top of page

Dave's Shave Of The Day #15

... with the RazoRock Hawk V2 single-edge razor


The Razor: RazoRock Hawk (V2) SE Razor

The Blade: Feather Professional

The Shave Gel: American Crew Precision Shave Gel



The Shave:

Wait, what? No pre-shave? No brush? What in blazes is going on here, Dave Shaves? you're probably saying outloud, the brush of outrage painting disbelieving patterns across your face. And ... and shave gel? Shave gel? In the name of all that's Holy, Dave Shaves, just what in blue blazes is going on here?


I know. It's a shock. But bear with me. Have a seat, take a deep breath and allow me to explain. Or, as they say in Esperanto, permesu al mi klarigi.


It's an interesting fact that I haven't gone near shave gel since I started wet shaving. Partly because I love the creams and soaps I've discovered* and so tend to stick to them and also partly because shave gel is linked in my mind to those desperate, desperate days of shaving with disposable Bics and supermarket cartridge razors. So I'd dismissed gels and discarded them from my memory - like you would an irritating friend who'd let you down one too many times** or a boss who'd made you redundant*** - until I saw this video by Our Lord and Master, Geofatboy, in which he uses American Crew precision shave gel in conjunction with the Feather Artist Club SS non-folding, kamisori-style razor. It occurred to me that although I wouldn't want to use it every day, the American Crew shave gel would be perfect to use on those occasions when I'm pressed for time and can't devote the time required for creating a lather. You simply apply the gel directly to the face and off you go.


I've used the gel twice this week already and will probably continue to do so over the next week until I can fall back into the welcoming arms of my favourite shaving creams. Like I said, I wouldn't want to use American Crew shave gel every day as I enjoy the whole ritual of creating lather with a brush, but for those times when you need to dive in the bathroom and have a quick shave, it's perfect.





* I'm looking at you, Taylor Of Old Bond Street, Proraso, Hawkins & Brimble and Extro Bay Rum.


** I'm looking at you, PM.


*** I'm looking at you, and you, CH and RB, you couple of rotters.


**** Or, in fact, when your main bathroom is temporarily out of commission and a lot of your shave stuff is packed away in boxes.


bottom of page