top of page

Dave's Shave Of The Day #18

... with the Ever Ready 1912

Pre-shave: Proraso green

Razor: Ever Ready 1912 (USA)

Blade: GEM

Soap: Executive Shaving Bay Rum

Brush: Executive Shaving Big Jock


The Shave: Due to the lack of a proper shave den over the last seven weeks, I've not been very good at keeping up to date with my eBay purchases, which have been very much aimed at vintage SE razors. I now have a GEM Micromatic Clog Pruf, three English-made Ever Ready 1912 razors and now a USA-made Ever Ready 1912, which is what I used in this shave*.

I also used my newly-acquired jar of Executive Shaving Bay Rum shaving cream**. Wow. What a cream. It builds into a sensational lather within seconds and gives off a strong, but not overpowering scent. For me, the scent was stronger than the Extro Bay Rum cream, which I'm a big fan of, and the cream itself gave my skin a pleasurable tingle while shaving.

The razor performed exceptionally well and I was able to pack it away after two passes (WTG and XTG) and a few touch up strokes ATG on the neck area. * Pretty much an identical shave to the English-made models. Possibly slightly less aggressive. Possibly. But the difference is so minimal that it's hardly worth mentioning. Except, I just did.

** I bought the Bay Rum after shave balm and the Big Jock synthetic brush at the same time, but more on those another time.


bottom of page