top of page

Dave's Shave Of The Day # 20

... with the C Friedrich Ern Raccoon 9/16ths razor


Pre-shave: Proraso green

The Brush: PAA Atomic Rocket

The Cream: Executive Shaving Bay Rum

The Razor: C Friedrich Ern Raccoon Double Hollow 9/16ths straight razor / Ever Ready 1912 SE razor

Post-shave Balm: Executive Shaving Bay Rum



The Shave:

Now this was a shave worth having.


First outing for the Phoenix Artisan Accoutrements Atomic Rocket synthetic brush. I like the handle, which is weightier and longer than I've been used to and made a welcome change*. The brush itself performed above and beyond expectations** when paired with the Executive Shaving Bay Rum shaving cream. I'm a massive fan of this cream - I still can't get over just how little of it you need to create swirling mountains of world-engulfing lather.


It was also a first outing for the Raccoon 9/16ths razor which performed magnificently. It was probably the best straight razor shave I've had so far - I think that's down to my technique and confidence improving, coupled with the fine, keen edge of the freshly-honed and stropped blade. I have another razor due for its maiden voyage and I'm hoping to get similar results from that.


For the third pass I used one of my Ever Ready 1912s to get that final smooth-as-glass*** finish, which I'm as yet unable to achieve using a straight razor. But I quite like combining a straight with an SE or DE razor. While I'm perfecting my straight razor technique it just seems to make sense.





* Not that there's anything wrong with shorter, stubbier handles. It was just pleasant to try something else.


** So many wet shavers had commented on how great the brush was. But they were right. It's a great brush.


*** Although I have done it in the past, I really hate using the 'BBS' abbreviation. I know hate's a strong word, but there we go. I don't know why I dislike using it so much. Anyway, I'm going to start using SAG instead. I'm such an influencer.


bottom of page