top of page

Dave's Shave Of The Day #23

... with the Ever Ready 1914 single-edge razor*


The Pre-shave: Proraso White

The Soap: Proraso White

The Brush: PAA Atomic Rocket

The Razor: Ever Ready 1914

The Blade: GEM

The Post-shave: Nivea for sensitive skin



The Shave:

Aside from the very first shave I had with a GEM Micromatic Clog Pruf**, every shave I've had with a vintage SE razor - whether a GEM or an Ever Ready - has been smooth, comfortable, irritation-free and, most of all, enjoyable***. So it wasn't that much of a surprise to find that my first shave with the Ever Ready 1914 that you see in the photograph was all of that and more. Let's be honest here - if I had just this one razor, I'd be happy knowing that I had years of SAG shaves ahead of me. The point is, I don't just have this razor, I have many and part of the enjoyment of shaving is chopping and changing and comparing. It's unlikely that this is being read by anyone other than a shaving enthusiast, so I'm sure I don't need to explain any further.


Loading the blade into the razor was interesting. It wasn't, for me, quite as tricky as I'd been led to believe it would be but on the other hand it wasn't just a case of dropping the blade in, shutting the top cap and then off we go. There was a bit more to it in terms of balancing the edge of the blade against the retaining hooks and ensuring that everything was lined up before shutting the top of the cap. But honestly, this probably took about ten seconds and as shaving for me is about slowing down and taking the time to appreciate what I'm doing, it's not really a big deal and certainly shouldn't put you off trying out a 1914 if you want to give one a go.


A great shave. I'll definitely be shaving with the 1914 very regularly. On those occasions when I'm not shaving with it, though, I'll make sure that I open the cabinet and pop my head in to say hello. I wouldn't want it to think I've abandoned it****.





* Well, for me anyway. Seeing as this particular razor was manufactured between 1917 and 1919 - making it, rather thrillingly, between 101 and 103-years old - then it's probably safe to say that it's had at least one, if not more, previous careful owner. Whoever did own it before me certainly took care of it.


** In which, readers, I chose to ignore the advice of someone far more experienced than me in the ways of vintage SE razors and ended up with a sore face. Serves me bloody right, quite frankly.


*** It seems ludicrous, now, to think that I spent so much of my shaving life before all this not enjoying shaving. It's not that I didn't enjoy it, more that I just didn't think about it. It was a sort of necessary chore to be hurried through and tolerated. Now look at me. It's like I've gone mad. And I'm probably at the less-extreme end of the shaving spectrum.


**** I'm only half joking here.

Comments


bottom of page