top of page

Dave's Shave Of The Day #26

... with the King C Gillette DE safety razor


The Razor: King C Gillette

The Blade: Gillette 7 o'clock

The Brush: The Big Jock

The Soap: Cella shaving soap

The Balm: Cella balm



The Shave:

In a word - smooth. In two words - comfortably smooth. In fact, it was a satisfyingly comfortable and smooth shave. That's three words*.


I honestly can't say much more than that. The King C Gillette treats your face to a mild tickle, which I assumed wouldn't quite deliver a close enough shave for my liking. I was wrong. After two passes I could have stopped, but because I was in the mood and I had the time, I went for a third pass and was rewarded with the kind of end result that has me thrusting my face at passers-by and saying Go on. Touch it. Stroke it. Feel the smoothness. Maybe that's why I end up in so much trouble.


I paid a paltry £16 for this razor, including blades and free postage, which was so much of a bargain it would have been insanity to pass it up. Of course, you may well be reading this some time afterwards (as I write this it's June 2020) in which case it might well cost more or not even exist. I just don't know. I'm not Doug Phillips**.





* Maths has never been my strong point. Technically five if you include and and shave. But really, is anybody actually counting?


** Or, for that matter, Anthony Newman. Fans of The Time Tunnel won't need any explanation about who these people are.

bottom of page