top of page

Dave's Shave Of The Day #29

... with the GEM Bullet-tip single-edge razor


The Brush: The Guv'nor

The Soap: Arko

The Razor: GEM bullet-tip

The Blade: GEM single-edge blade



The Shave:

Ah yes, the GEM bullet-tip razor. Or the flying wing as it's sometimes called. Or the blade of justice, as some people refer to it*. We meet again.


I've said it before and, no doubt, I'll say it again** but I think it's a wonderful situation to be in when you can buy a vintage single-edge razor - like the one shown above, or an Ever Ready 1912 or 1914 - for the price of, say, three cups of coffee and a slice of Victoria sponge. I don't own a Gillette Fatboy. I'm not saying I wouldn't like to own one, but I object to paying that amount of money for one. This might seem an odd thing to say considering the prices I've paid for other razors, but they've been brand new. It doesn't sit quite right with me to spend a lot of money on something that old. That's why I have GEMs and Ever Ready razors in my collection: yes, they're old but did I pay a fortune for them? No, I didn't and you don't generally have to.


Anyway - the shave. It was perfect. Two passes and I could go about the rest of my business in a happy frame of mind. That's all any of us want from a shave, surely***?





* Do they? I don't know - I just made this up. I suppose they might.


** I've said that before, too. And no doubt I'll say it again, again.


*** I'm pretty sure, for instance, that people don't wet shave expecting to discover the secret of alchemy or the Arc of the Covenant whilst doing so. That would be mental. Neither will someone be heading into their bathroom for a shave wondering if they're going to come out twenty minutes later with a bag of carrots and some beetroot. I could go on with this. I have literally hundreds of examples I could give you, but I think you get the general idea, which is that what people want from a shave is a close, comfortable, facial-hair-reducing experience. If it happens to soothe the soul at the same time then so much the better.

Comentarios


bottom of page