top of page

Dave's Shave Of The Day #30

... with the Ever Ready 1914


The Brush: Simpson Trafalgar T3

The Cream: Taylor of Old Bond Street Lemon & Lime

The Razor: Ever Ready 1914

The Blade: GEM single edge



The Shave:

I go through razor phases. Sometimes it'll be a week or two of straight razors*, sometimes I'll have a month of DE razors. And sometimes I'll get into a period of shaving with single edge razors, like the GEM Clog Pruf or G-bar. Or, as is the case for this shave, the Ever Ready 1914.


I don't know what it is about vintage single-edge razors, but shaving with one, especially after a period of time not shaving with one, feels like coming home and opening the front door to the smell of baking bread**. Shaving with a vintage single-edge razor and smelling homemade bread may be two different experiences, but the feelings they both create are the same: comfortable familiarity***.


And sexual arousal****.


I'm joking, for God's sake*****.





* As in, when I don't mind having a week of not entirely satisfactory shaves. This isn't to do with the razors, it's to do with my technique. No matter how much I practice with them, I just can't seem to get a really smooth shave out of a straight razor. Maybe I'm expecting too much from them. I mean, I don't really mind, it's just frustrating.


** "Hang on a minute, Dave," you're probably saying outloud. "Just hang the hell on. That's a bloody odd comparison to make, isn't it? Shaving with a vintage single-edge razor and the smell of home baking? It doesn't even make sense to start with. Have you lost your mind?" Well, what I say to you in response is just hold your horses for a moment, ok? Just hold your bloody horses.


*** Told you. You just need to wait sometimes. Let that be a lesson to you.


**** "Christ, Dave! What the hell do you think you're ...?"


***** (sighs) Have you learned nothing?

Kommentare


bottom of page