top of page

Dave's Shave Of The Day #32

... with the Ascension open-comb razor


The Cream: Bay Rum

The Brush: Trafalgar T3

The Razor: The Ascension

The Blade: Gillette 7 o'clock super stainless

The Balm: Bay Rum



THESHAVE:

Allow me to refer you to the previous shave of the day in which I totally ignored the charms of the razor and instead reviewed the allure of Executive Shaving's CITRUS KISS shaving cream and after-shave balm. Same thing here, in that I'm using another Executive Shaving double-pronged battle spear in the form of their BAY RUM shaving cream and after-shave balm and totally ignoring the razor itself, which has its own review right here.


The scent of both the shaving cream and the balm is definitely Bay Rum. You'll have guessed that from the labels on both, anyway. No doubt about it: it's Bay Rum. You wouldn't sniff either the shaving cream or the balm and think Hmmm. What does that remind me of? and spend the next ten minutes rubbing your chin and wracking your brains, going, What's that scent? Pigeons? Gorgonzola? No. You're going to be going, That's Bay Rum. That's definitely Bay Rum. Yep. No doubt about it. Bay. Rum.


It smells of Christmas. It smells of mulled wine. It smells of spices. It smells, curiously, of the creepy English teacher from when you were in year 10. It smells of bay. And rum.


It's defintely Bay Rum.


Also - you need hardly any of the cream to create enough lather to get a decent shave. Just over a fingertip-sized dollop. Then, apply a well-hydrated brush in brisk, small, circular motions and within seconds* you have the sort of lather that you'd be proud to take home and introduce to your parents.


As for the balm: blimey. I don't know if it's meant to or not, or whether this says more about my shaving skills than anything else, but I find I get a pleasant little sting when I apply the balm post-shave. It doesn't last for long and it doesn't bring tears to my eyes, but the sting is there. I find this appealing, though, so I'm not complaining.


Yep. Definitely Bay Rum.





* I'm not actually exaggerating here. Really. It just takes a few seconds.

Comments


bottom of page