top of page

Dave's Shave Of The Day # 4

... with the Fatip Grande Gold Classic Original


The Pre-shave: Proraso Refreshing

The Razor: Fatip Grande Gold Classic Original

The Blade: Feather Hi-stainless

The Cream: Proraso Sandalwood Shaving Soap

The Brush: Shave Nation Synthetic

The Balm: Nivea Sensitive

The Shave: This excellent shave was notable for several different reasons. Firstly, I started shaving at 11.30pm, which is unusual for me as tiredness dictates that I usually shave way, way before this time.* However, the late start was due to needing a guaranteed, luxurious 30 minutes to myself when everyone else was in bed so that, secondly, I could fully enjoy the first outing for my recently acquired Fatip Grande, in proper peace and quiet without fear of interruption. You can read more about my thoughts on the Fatip Grande (it's pronounced fa-teep as opposed to fat tip, by the way) somewhere in The Shave Cave.

Thirdly, in honour of the Fatip being made in Italy, I thought I'd go all-out Italian and so excitedly gathered my products around me: Proraso pre-shave cream? Check. Proraso sandalwood-scented shaving soap in a tub? Check. Fatip Grande Gold Classic Original razor? Check. There, the Italian theme ended as the blade was a second-use Feather Hi-Stainless (from Japan) and the post-shave balm was from Nivea (not Italian). If you want to learn more about Nivea, you can spend an hour or so reading this. But be warned, it's an hour of your life you'll never get back.

Fourthly, I've been using a pure badger hair brush of late and thought I'd change things up a bit, going for my wood-handled synthetic shaving brush, all the way from Shave Nation and Geofatboy

Fifthly, there's nothing quite like going to bed with your face singing like Luciano Pavarotti after the attentions of a fine soap, a beautiful razor and a cheeky post-shave balm. Marvellous.

Lastly, despite it being a new razor and thus requiring some initial tentative care, I managed to sink into my pillows without a bloodied face. When I first started wet shaving, I'd almost always cut myself when using a new razor for the first time. Now it happens less and less. Ah, those heady days of not knowing if the day would end with cheeks you could use to polish your cutlery or a trip to A&E.



* Look, don't laugh. 11.30pm is late for me. I left my 20s behind a long time ago, and thank God I did, as I habitually shaved with Bic disposables. I'd like to give my 20 year-old self a good clip round the ear. I was young, then. I didn't know what I was doing.



bottom of page