top of page

Dave's Shave Of The Day # 5

... with the Parker 87r TTO razor

Pre-shave: Proraso Refreshing

Razor: Parker 87r TTO

Blade: Feather Hi-stainless

Soap: Arko shaving soap

Brush: The Guv'nor Pure Badger

Post-shave Balm: Boots Freshwood



The Shave:

Impressive shave simply for the fact that it was my latest yet. Twenty minutes past midnight. Why I didn't just write 12.20am I don't know. Twenty minutes past midnight. It makes me sound like a Victorian vampire hunter. I never usually speak like this. It puts me in mind of my mother who once asked me, during a visit, whether or not I had any biscuits. But instead of simply asking, Have you got any biscuits? she went up and down some linguistic highways and byways and instead, bizarrely, said something along the lines of, Forsooth, sire. Havest-thou, m'lud, an oatmeal biscotti, perchance?*


Not only was it late to be going at my face with a safety razor - or any kind of razor, really - but I'd had a few** by that point. The perfect ingredients for a cake. A cake of shaving doom, with blood icing. But no. I should have cut my face to ribbons, but I didn't. Not even a tiny scratch. And I came out of it with a decent shave. From what I remember.

Also – Freshwood aftershave balm from Boots. It does what it's meant to do and has a pleasant scent but I can't think what it reminds me of. Not fresh wood, necessarily. I'll get back to you.



* I'm not making this stuff up. Honestly.


** I'd had a few drinks, is what I mean. Not shaves. Or oatmeal biscotti.

bottom of page