top of page

Dave's Shave Of The Day #21

... with the Gold Dollar W59 straight razor


The Pre-shave: Proraso White

The Brush: Big Jock Synthetic

The Soap: Proraso White

The Razor: Gold Dollar W59

The Aftershave: Proraso



The Shave:

Blimey. This was a bit of a perilous shave on account of my newly honed and stropped razor*, the Gold Dollar W59. It's a great-looking razor and my first experience of a Spanish Point,** which you can see in the photo to the right. Despite repeating to myself, over and over again, the mantra whatever you do, don't forget the Spanish Point as I was applying the pre-shave cream and mixing up a lather, I managed to forget the Spanish Point was there and gouged a couple of small holes in the side of my face within seconds of starting what was an otherwise enoyable shave. I'm not prone to exaggeration*** but I looked like I'd been in a fight with Zorro by the end of my time with the Gold Dollar W59. Not enough of a fight to put me off using it again, though. It's actually a really enjoyable razor to use, and its overall shape makes a welcome change to other more standard-shaped straight razors. Shaving with the W59 just requires a little more care, that's all. Unless you enjoy having gouge marks in your face and neck.


Also my first experience with Proraso White, in both pre-shave and soap forms. I'm a fan of Proraso, so I wasn't expecting anything other than the great lather I got from it. I did notice that the soap, once on the face, seemed to dry out quicker than usual, but that might just be me and it wasn't a problem that couldn't be solved simply by dabbing the brush in some water and applying it. Simple.


So to sum up: despite the odd facial wound and the lather having a tendency to dry out, an excellent shave. What ho! Onwards and upwards.





* Honed and stropped by Kym Mathias at KM Designs and purchased by me. I think this is the third razor I've bought from Kym and I'd thoroughly recommend his services. Looking through his eBay listings is an exercise in self-restraint as I want to buy practically every razor he has for sale.


** The sharp pointy bit on the bottom of the blade, as opposed to Spanish Point In Co. Clare, Ireland.


*** Well, ok. Maybe just a little bit.


bottom of page