top of page

The Bluebeards Revenge Shaving Cream (100ml)



From The Bluebeards Revenge website:

Our tough-on-stubble Shaving Cream can be whipped into a rich lather

with a few flicks of the wrist. It’s so good, we think it might be one of the

best creams on the planet …

Is it, though? The thing is, you read stuff like this and it's not that you don't believe it, as such, more that you tend to take it all with a pinch of salt. Which is exactly what I did when I ordered the shaving cream, despite having been convinced to do so by this video from the godfather of wet shaving, Geofatboy. So despite already being enthused by the video and seeing the results that Geofatboy got from the cream, I still didn't believe what I read. Maybe it's because Geofatboy would, I suspect, be able to get a decent shave from a broken bottle and a more than adequate shaving lather from dishwasher detergent, if pressed. He makes anything shaving related look easy, so I was skeptical about the claims about the shaving cream from the website.

So – one of the best creams on the planet? Well, I can't claim to be an expert when it comes to shaving creams by any means. I haven't tried loads of them. I don't have enough time, quite frankly, and I don't have a bottomless wallet. However – out of the creams I have tried, this is definitely up there as one of the best so yes, not a ridiculous claim.

Why? Well, firstly the scent, conjured up from a heady mix of aqua, stearic acid, myristic acid, potassium hydroxide, coconut fatty acid, glycerin, parfum, sodium hydroxide, triethanolamine, phenoxyethanol, ethylhexylglycerin, benzyl benzoate, linalool and limonene*, all combining to reward your nasal membranes with that familiar barbershop scent. It's not overpowering but at the same time it's not so subtle that you don't notice it. Somewhere in between, then.

Secondly, you don't need a lot to make a great shaving lather. I'm talking quantity here. The claim is you need an 'almond-sized dollop' on the end of your finger. I took them at their word and tried it and, with the aid of a pure badger hair brush and my shaving mug, whipped up an impressive lather in terms of amount and thick, creamy consistency in a very short space of time. I'm talking less than ten seconds.

Would I recommend this? Yes I would. Will I be buying more of it when this current pot runs out? Yes I will. Would I recommend The Bluebeards Revenge overall? Definitely. Quick delivery, an easy-to-navigate website and some great products for sale. I've also bought The Bluebeards Revenge Post-shave balm and this rather handy hanging washbag which will be going with me on a couple of trips in October. I've also got my eye on one of these t-shirts and this rather fine-looking straight razor**, but those will have to wait for another time. Shaving can be an expensive business. * I know what you're thinking. But if you stopped me in the street and asked me what the ingredients of The Bluebeards Revenge shaving cream were, I'd be able to reel them off, no problem. I didn't just read them off the side of the tin. Or copy them from the shaving cream entry on the website.

** This isn't a hint. I'm not a YouTube reviewer, for Christ's sake. Having said that, I'd look really cool shaving with one of those straight razors in one of those t-shirts. I'm just saying.





bottom of page