top of page

Fatip Piccolo Special Edition

I'M SO EXCITED AND I JUST CAN'T HIDE IT. I'M ABOUT TO LOSE CONTROL ... AND I THINK I LIKE IT*


Behold, my children. Behold the majesty of the Fatip Piccolo Special Edition DE razor**.


I got this for Christmas, 2019 but what with one thing and another and writing commitments away from the Dave Shaves website, I've only just got round to writing about this. If you look back at previous entries in the Shave Cave, you'll know that I'm a fan of the Fatip razors and already own several. So why the hell would I want to own this too? The answer is - because it's not just one razor, it's two. Two for a fantastically cheap price, in fact***.


Holy Cow!

I mean, look at this. In some larger hands, the Piccolo would probably be a pain to hold and control. But I like the size (hence the name Piccolo) and it's not a problem. Plus, as I already own a Fatip Grande Gold Original, which has the longer, wider handle, I can use that handle instead.


Now feast your peepers on those colours: the dark chrome, the gold of the open-comb base plate. It's enough, even with just a cursory first glance, to make you want to fall to your knees and thank the universe for simply existing.


Two Base Plates

Wait, what? Two base plates? Yes - two base plates. One open-comb**** and one closed. Which makes this a great purchasing option for wet-shaving funsters the world over as it means you're actually getting two razors for the price of one. And if, like me, you have the Fatip Grande Gold Original, you can change out the open-comb base plate in that and swap it with the closed-comb one from this set. So you then have a choice of handles and aggressiveness, putting them together in different combinations, like a sort of Frankenstein of the shaving community. And then you can run around your shave den, holding your mad Fatip razor hybrid, screaming 'It's alive! It's alive!' just like Colin Clive in 1931's Frankenstein*****.





Here's a close-up of the open comb plate.











Here's a close-up of the closed-comb or gentile plate.






What strikes me most about the Fatip collection of razors is that none of them are going to break the bank, which makes them an ideal choice for when you're browsing through shaving websites with itchy fingers and feel like adding something to the shaving arsenal. A bit like now ...





* As The Pointer Sisters once said. Or sang.


** Look, if you have to start a review about something you really like, then you may as well start with an overly dramatic statement.


*** Particularly cheap for me, as this was a Christmas present so I didn't have to part with any cash whatsoever.


**** Which means that I now have three Fatip open-comb razors as I already have the Fatip Grande Gold Original and the Fatip Piccolo in silver.


***** Just a suggestion.


bottom of page