top of page

Michael Freedberg


Shaving tutorials don't come more Zen-like than the ones produced by Michael Freedberg for his excellent and highly-recommended wet-shaving channel on YouTube. There's something hypnotic* about his calm, quiet voice and the steady flop-flop-flop of the shaving brush** that create an overall effect that isn't unlike having your brain gently soothed in warm, liquid velvet***. He also happens to look uncannily like my mate, Tim.


I was introduced to Michael via this video right here and it's one I would heartily recommend to any wide-eyed, wet-shaving beginner having trouble with their lather. A perfect, pristine example of watching a master at work Actually, I'd recommend the video to seasoned, shaving-with-a-broken-bottle veterans too - not just this video, but any of them. Search in his channel under the word lather. Then sit back, grab a coffee, light a cigar**** and marvel at Michael's effortless ability to conjure cascading waterfalls of perfectly-formed, creamy lather seemingly at will from nowhere***** from a wide variety of soaps and creams. I get the feeling that he could produce a perfectly workable lather from washing-up liquid if pressed.******


Words can't adequately describe just how good Michael's channel is. No gimmicks, no frills, nothing fancy, just good, honest, face-in-the-camera stuff and as intense an on-screen lathering and shaving experience as you'll find anywhere else on YouTube. If you haven't already done so then go and watch Michael Freedberg right now. At the time of writing he has 226 videos up, so it'll take you a while.


Honestly - it'll be worth it.



* Hypnotic, yes, but never soporific.


** And blimey, does Michael have a lot of brushes. I mean, probably no more than the other members of The Handful, but when I think of Mr Freedberg I think of brushes, rather than razors. Brushes and shaving cream/soap. I don't want you to get the impression that I spend all my waking hours thinking about Michael Freedberg. I just mean ... oh, you know what I mean.


*** I would imagine. I've never done this so actually I wouldn't know.


**** Christ - no! What am I saying? Don't do that. Do something less harmful to your health. Eat a breadstick, or something.


***** Well, obviously not from nowhere. I'm exaggerating for effect. But he's kind of like a shaving magician. One moment, there's no lather. The next - TA DAAAAAA - he has lather, like he's pulled a shaving-cream rabbit out of a lather-bowl hat.


****** I'm well aware that this line is very similar to the one in Geofatboy's review where I say I reckon he could get a decent shave from a butterknife. But, you know, it's my blog and I can repeat myself if I want to. And I can repeat myself if I want to.


bottom of page